Categories
General

Vote for our Table Mountain….

Opportunity present  itself again to vote for the new 7 wonders of the world. In the nomination is our beautiful Table Mountain. Table Mountain has been in the world map for centuries now, and it is about time to be one of the wonders of this world. The travellers and the visitors of the beautiful Cape will tell you that they have arrived in the mother city by spotting the famous flat-topped icon.

As I have said that the Table Mountain is a heavyweight contender in the final round of the 7 wonder of nature contest, she now needs your help to become an ultimate champion! The voting is currently underway and she is vying for a spot on this most prestigious list along with 27 other natural beauties. I thus appeal to you guys that you vote for her. Just bear in mind that should she win, she will put South Africa on the map, and the country’s tourism industry will benefit as a result.

According to the website, vote table mountain, The New7Wonder of Nature campaign aims to raise awareness of the incredible variety and beauty of nature around us. The Foundation’s slogan sums its position up: “If we want to save anything, we first need to truly appreciate it!”

Table mountain is in the final round because of our humble father, the former Archbishop Desmond Tutu. He is the one who ensured that the mountain is in the bid to be recognised as a wonder of nature.  As for me, I am supporting the Table mountain and I have voted for her. The following are the reason I think why Table Mountain needs to make a cut in being New7wonders of nature:

  • She attracts visitors every year from all walks of life.
  • She is way older than the Himalaya mountain.
  • She boast 1500 species -most of the endemic Fynbos of the Cape Flora Kingdom.
  • She offers panoramic views of the Cape Peninsula, Robben Island, and Table Bay from more than 100 metres above sea level.
  • Her Cable cars is one of only three revolving cable cars in the world.
  • And lastly, she is insanely beautiful.

If you are a South African with a flair for natural heritage and national pride, I think you are indebted to vote for Table mountain to be one of the shining stars in the world.

So South Africans, I urge you to Show the world how wondrous Table Mountain really is. To vote for her, please visit http://www.new7wonders.com. Vote for Table Mountain via SMS as often as possible. SMS “Table” to 34874. Each SMS costs R2.

Voting ends in November 2011, and the The world’s New7Wonders of Nature will be announced in Switzerland’s capital, Zurich, next year, on November 11.

Support our Table Mountain!!

Source: MangoJuice, Votefortablemountain, New7wonder of nature.

By Dumirocks

I often say that am born in the rurals. I am a hewer of woods and a collector of water. I am a governance and audit professional with a degree in commerce from the University of Stellenbosch.

I previously trained as an auditor with the Auditor - General of South Africa (AGSA).

I have a keen interest in sports with often participation in marathon, trail running and mountain biking. I am interested in debating, reading and neuroscience!

7 replies on “Vote for our Table Mountain….”

I had the privilege of visiting Cape Town recently. I was impressed by the profuse richness of the cape and captivated by the grandeur of Table Mountain. If I could vote for her to be recognized as one of the 7 wonders I certainly would.

Leave a comment