RSS

Steve Jobs: A remarkable man

10 Oct

This was a homepage of Apple Inc during the grieving period. (Source:Apple)

The death of Steve Jobs brought in some really moving tribute, ranging from students who drew inspiration from him to businessmen who worked closely with him. On the day of his death, Steve Jobs became a trending topic on twitter with hash label #ThankyouSteve and #iSad.

For me Steve was one of my favourite business leader of all times and I regarded him as a true genious and the most innovative being that the human race has ever seen.I stand to be corrected on that, but South Africa’s leading scenario planner, Clem Sunter, concur with me in his article entitled “iWish” when he says and I quote “He was the ultimate entrepreneur whose creativity and passion for continuous innovation produced an array of products which have changed a billion lives”.

His presence on earth really blessed us with heavenly creations like iPad (that thing I am stiil saving dearly for) and he cheered kids with Toy Stories and Finding Nemo amongst other films through his company Pixar Animations, that he later sold to Disney in 2006.

Steve Jobs was a real genious.

One sunny boring day, I stumbled upon a commencement speech he delivered at Standford University. The speech was so moving that it gave one goose bumps. In it, Steve recounts three personal stories in which he advocates following your heart and doing what you love.

The following quotes made an impact on me as I was watching his talk on that boring sunny day.

Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work. And the only way to do great work is to love what you do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking. Don’t settle. As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it. And, like any great relationship, it just gets better and better as the years roll on. So keep looking until you find it. Don’t settle.

Remembering that you are going to die is the best way I know to avoid the trap of thinking you have something to lose. You are already naked. There is no reason not to follow your heart.

This is a speech that Steve Jobs gave at Stanford University in 2005 for the graduation commencement. I hope you find it inspiring as I did.

Think different!

The homepage of Apple was followed by this message from Apple CEO, Tim Cook.

Steve Paul Jobs defined innovation and his legacy in the form of his iVersions will forever live on.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2011 in Business, Leadership, Social Media

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Steve Jobs: A remarkable man

  1. Nolo

    October 27, 2011 at 10:29 am

    isteve was inspirational love your blog .. iamazing and informative

     
  2. work from home uk

    October 28, 2011 at 2:24 am

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back in the foreseeable future.

     
  3. miele

    November 3, 2011 at 12:59 pm

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

     
  4. Luthando

    February 9, 2012 at 10:05 am

    We are very thankful to have people like u Dumi keeping us inspired.

    Thank you dont stop.

    Regards

    Mfana womxhosa.

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      February 10, 2012 at 2:22 am

      Thank you very much. I am humbled. I would love if you’d subscribe to my post.

       

Leave a Reply

 
