RSS

My final status update…

05 Aug

There are about 1 billion people active users of the social media tools in the world. Social media has played an integral role in our lives. Remember how a single tweet inspired the youth of Egypt to gun against their President? It is just beautiful.  It contributes to the new world order.  The shy boy scores the girl by just saying “babe, may I please scan your BBM pin?” After that, just notice how the shy boy changes his relationship status on Facebook the next morning.

Social media is just bliss. Boy, are we in heaven?

The most popular social media tool, Facebook is being used for all sorts of things. Including of course, bragging about how one got full marks on a certain question in management accounting paper. [Really: who wants to know that], but we do it anyway.  While we are still on the issue of  Facebook, let me give you something to think about, have you perhaps wondered what your final status update will be?

Don’t you think that it would be very cool and comforting to read something like this “Greeting friends, post on my wall no more because I am now dead; peacefully resting. Your pokes hurt me no more :)” on which one of your top friends comment “Be Angelic, we miss your lies already! :(”

At TedGlobal 2011, Mashable’s Adam Ostrow delivered an interesting speech on the subject (final status update. The video really gives one something to reflect on. In the middle of his talk he shared something that really made me envy bloggers even more. Take my word when I say bloggers are immortal. Check the picture below about a blogger who instructed his family to update his blog when he finally loses the battle against cancer. It was his last blog post.

Source: Adam Ostrow, TedGlobal 2011 (video)

Intriguing, isn’t it?

What would you like your final status update to be?

Share with me on a comment box below!!!!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2011 in General

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “My final status update…

  1. Nkosinathi

    August 5, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    DUmi U touched a very significant topic and I would like to say…You are such a good writer, U inspire me to write and that being said man, I don`t know what would be my last Status on facebook be..its quite a tricky one because I never thought about it.

     
    • Dumisani Mahlangu

      August 5, 2011 at 4:43 pm

      Thanks Nkosinathi, it is just something to reflect on…..because there will be that one final status update!!!!

       
  2. Mahlwane

    August 5, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    Mine would be whatever it would be. I know that whatever it is it will be a reflection of the person I once was. I think the best way to go at this is to be yourself in everything you do. Because as much as I would like my last status update to reflect who Mahlwane was, I would also like my last words, act etc. to reflect that. But I get the writer, you could have family put something up for you but I think I prefer the random rather than the planned one

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      August 5, 2011 at 10:55 pm

      Well said Mahlwane. The things we do online will contribute to a larger archive when we die. So whatever you do, let it be the reflection of the brand you are. I concur with you in every sense of the word!!!!

       
  3. tl4thefuture

    August 6, 2011 at 12:50 am

    My final status update would just notify everybody to remain positive and to continue to strive for the common good of the world. I would indeed thank my creator for my life up till that point and my beloved will also be acknowledged and reminded that life is short. The exact words I do not have but the message will definately be that. -Sibusiso Dhlamini

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      August 6, 2011 at 12:59 am

      Sibusiso D, your final status update will really encourage your facebook to do good and be friendly to the environment. That’s GOOD….:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
