RSS

NSFAS TO BE A WORLD-CLASS STUDENT FINANCIAL AID SCHEME

25 Jul

*Delayed post.

National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) makes tertiary study accessible and further changes are being made constantly as it deems fit, thus making it the best student financial scheme in the world. You might find this post very useful if you are a child of the working class, a current student who wants to further his studies through NSFAS, or Student who got blacklisted in the credit bureau by a public university.

The excerpt below is in no way the ideas of the author of this blog. It is a section taken from the 2011 Budget Vote speech delivered by the Minister of Higher Education and Training Dr Blade Nzimande.

An announcement by the President was made on January 8 and elaborated in his State of the Nation Address regarding further assistance for FET students and final year university undergraduates who qualify for NSFAS. I also wish to announce further changes on NSFAS aimed at making higher education more affordable.

In the past, NSFAS has charged interest on student loans throughout the period when the students were studying. This has resulted in students leaving university with large debts. In future, NSFAS will not start charging interest on student loans until 12 months after a student has graduated or left university. This will apply to all the NSFAS loans to students registered on 1 April 2011 and moving forward.

R200 million has been provided to enable NSFAS to grant loans to students who have completed their studies but have not received their certificates or graduated, due to outstanding debt. This will enable an estimated 25 000 students to receive their certificates and enter the job market. All students who met the requirements for graduation between 2000 and 2010 and who are eligible for NSFAS loans can apply for this special funding through their student financial aid offices. In cases of scarce skills, consideration may be given to honours students for such assistance.

A further R50 million has been provided for postgraduate students who require financial assistance to complete their honours, masters and doctoral degrees. These students will enter into loans agreements with NSFAS and the money they pay back will be earmarked to fund future postgraduate students.

Despite the progress we have made in assisting students through NSFAS, I am very concerned that there are many former university students who have been blacklisted with credit bureaus by our public universities. Blacklisting prevents these young people from getting the start in life for which they have studied so hard.

We have asked NSFAS to remove from the credit bureaux all the students they have blacklisted. My Acting Director-General is engaging the universities to do the same, especially for students who were recipients of NSFAS loans. We will further be engaging the National Credit Regulator on this matter. We will also be approaching SARS to assist us to trace NSFAS beneficiaries who are now working but not paying their loans.

Full speech available at: Budget Vote speech

Source: The department of Higher Education and Training.

 
30 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2011 in General

 

Tags: , ,

30 responses to “NSFAS TO BE A WORLD-CLASS STUDENT FINANCIAL AID SCHEME

  1. mangi

    August 22, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    i wnt 2 further my studys but i am blacklisted by retail shops,so m askng if wl i get a loan if m blacklisted?

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      August 23, 2011 at 8:07 pm

      Buddy, unfortunately I do not know much about such stuff.

       
  2. dumsani

    September 2, 2011 at 9:20 am

    my name is Dumisani Mshengu from eMngungundlovu i am studying at universisy of Zululand

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      September 4, 2011 at 11:07 am

      Good Dumisani. Work hard that side and be a superstar in whatever you are doing!!!

       
  3. Matshin'ayibheke

    September 9, 2011 at 5:16 am

    Mangi for NASFAS I think you will be able to qualify for a study loan as long as you meet the means test ,so explorer that avenue ….

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      September 9, 2011 at 2:49 pm

      Matshin’ayibheke, Thanks buddy for assisting in this regard! Together we can do more!

       
  4. Lona Nyoka

    December 12, 2011 at 10:02 am

    I would like to know will nsfas pay ma fees if I would change university?

     
    • hlengy

      November 6, 2012 at 1:15 pm

      Yes

       
  5. sebeko nthabiseng

    March 8, 2012 at 11:37 am

    how do i cancel my nsfas loan?

     
  6. sebeko nthabiseng

    March 8, 2012 at 11:38 am

    how do i write a letter to cancel my nsfas loan?

     
  7. hlengy

    November 6, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    What is a means test?

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      November 6, 2012 at 4:25 pm

      A means test is a test to determine whether you and your family are eligible for assistance from the government.

      Thanks….

      Dumirocks

       
  8. Tshiamo Moeng

    January 29, 2013 at 7:37 am

    I am a female student of 18 years living in Soweto my mother is a single parent and does not afford to pay for my tuition fees I have registered with Varsity College to study a BA in Health Science and Social Services. I need the fees amounting to R34 000 as a whole course fees for a year of which R11 000 has to be paid by Friday 01 February 2013. Failing which I won’t be able to further my studies. Could NSFAS please be of help to me to further my studies.

    Your help will be higly appreciated

     
  9. thokozani

    November 28, 2013 at 7:39 pm

    I have been dismissed at work and I find difficult to pay my loans and now I want further my studies do I qualify for NSFAS as I have been blacklisted by shops

     
  10. NEO

    January 9, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    I WNT TO KNW.WIL NSFAS CONTINUE TO PAY MY STUDY FEES IF I AM BLACKLISTED BY RETAIL SHOPS

     
  11. Hloniphile

    January 15, 2014 at 10:43 am

    I passed with high certificate,and i dont have money to further my studies iwant to study social worker can nsfas lend me a loan?

     
  12. Hloniphile

    January 15, 2014 at 10:44 am

    I passed with high certificate,and i dont have money to further my studies iwant to study social worker can nsfas lend me a loan,my mom is getting sassa grant

     
  13. Hloniphile

    January 15, 2014 at 10:58 am

    Which date must i apply for nsfas loans

     
  14. Hloniphile masinga

    January 17, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    Idnt comment,can i ask,do nsfas lend u loan if u passed with high grade,plz reply ku mvelase2676@nokiamail.com iwant to study social worker at ukzn

     
    • Dumirocks

      February 17, 2014 at 4:20 pm

      If you do meet the minimum requirement of proposed study programme, yes.

       
  15. Hloniphile masinga

    January 17, 2014 at 9:18 pm

    mvelase2676@nokiamail.com iwant to study social worker at ukzn ,idnt have money to further my studies,can nsfas give me a loan to study

     
    • Dumirocks

      February 17, 2014 at 4:19 pm

      Nsfas provide support to every financially deserving student.

       
  16. NEO

    January 19, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    CAN I GET MY ANSWA PLZ IF I AM BLACKLISTED DOES NSFAS CONTINUE 2 PAY 4 MY STUDIES

     
    • Dumirocks

      February 17, 2014 at 4:18 pm

      Dear Neo.

      Try to get in contact with your university’s financial aid office.

       
  17. anda

    January 24, 2014 at 12:14 am

    I applyed in varsity college and iam accepted so my tuition fees are 21thousand can nsfas help me please i need a student loan

     
  18. Ndubane simon

    October 12, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    Plz help me i was at college last year since 2011 to 2013 and now i apply unisa.so tel me how can i continue with that nasfas

     
  19. Matlou

    October 1, 2015 at 2:13 pm

    I want to study traffic policing at tut how can i apply for nsfas loan?

     
  20. sir vijay

    April 11, 2016 at 7:39 am

    I Am Sir vijay taylor , I give out affordable loan at 3% interest rate. contact us at: alansmith.smith61@hotmail.com with Your Full Name, Amount Needed, Duration, Country, Mobile No:..

     
  21. nelly

    January 9, 2017 at 6:25 pm

    I’m the student who pass mygrade 12 with high certificate , I’m ask help for Nsfas 2 pay my study if it possible?

     
  22. bophelo

    January 20, 2017 at 8:00 am

    hєч mч cσncєrn íѕ í σвtαín hígh cєrtífícαtє nd í wαnt tσ gσ tσ ѕchσσl ѕσ í cαn gєt nѕfαѕ σrє nσt

     

Leave a Reply

 
