RSS

South Africa’s Youth Agency calls for unemployed graduates

05 Jun

This month (June) is adoptedd by National Youth Development Agency (NYDA) as Youth Month. To mark and celebrate this  month, NYDA calls for unemployed youth to register on their job seekers database. The Jobs and Opportunities Seekers’ Database (JOBS) – is a free online database for young people looking for job and training opportunities. JOBS is part of the Unemployed Graduates Initiative which was officially launched by the then Deputy President of South Africa, Ms Phumzile Mlambo Ngquka in December 2005. It is part of the JIPSA and ASGISA initiative. For tips on how to increase you chance of getting a job see this post.

See an advert below, as it appears on page 12  of career section on Sunday Times, dated 5 June 2011.

As seen on Sunday Times, 05 June 2011

if you are an unemployed graduate send your CV as in yesterday. All the best!!!!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2011 in General

 

Tags:

6 responses to “South Africa’s Youth Agency calls for unemployed graduates

  1. Vuyo

    June 9, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    In as much as I am a recent graduate, I would never, I repeat: NEVER, in my entire life register – whether online or in hard copy.

    As citizenry, we must, at least by now, have already been tired of failing ANC policies. I assure you Dumi , and with a high degree of precision, that: although “this” looks like a neutral “online database for young people looking for job and training opportunities” – it is, after all, a policy pursuit for ANC.

    ANC policies have failed dismally, both in theory and in practice. I say this mindful of my limited knowledge as a graduate in Public Policy studies. Dumi, both logic and evidence dictates that this ‘online database things’ is nothing more than an ANC policy strategy to win favour and confidence of RSA graduates – whom we both and equally know are hungry for jobs.

    I have nothing against the ANC. I am not a politician. However, in my capacity as a

    (a) Founder & CEO at Civil Alliance for Policy and Political Affairs (CAPPA),
    (b) An emerging Policy Analyst

    I have everything against ANC policies – especially in the socio-economic field.

    There was once a policy called RDP, then GEAR, then AsgiSA, then JIPSA – the list goes on. All these policies, I say this without any fear of contradiction – and without holding any breath, have failed first us and second the Republic. They have failed us dismally.

    If I had the necessary requirements, I would have taken the RSA President (together with his cabinet) to the Constitutional Court long time ago for failure to deliver and meet its constitutional obligations. A valid and enforceable contract between the government and its citizenry has been breached by the government.

    I have a section 38 (of the Constitution) right to approach a competent court – alleging that my right in the Bill of Rights has been unlawfully infringed. An the Courts have a section 172(1) (of the Constitution) right to grant appropriate relief.

    Furthermore,

    I have never studied economics at varsity. I am not an Economist. However, it is very clear from a reasonable and well informed man that this is not just a matter of economics (jobs & employment – as the government would claim it to be). Dumi, this is a matter of ‘human rights.. a matter of socio-economic rights and a matter of responsive governance’.

    Here we are talking about people, sufficiently educated people, who have been denied, of course by our reckless ANC government, their constitutional rights. I am tempted to say that even our RSA Constitution provides no hope – as it has become nothing but a political… easily manipulated by members of the executive (politicians!!!).

    What I want to see is justice being done by the government to our brothers and sisters who are well educated but are still sitting down at home (in taverns and on the streets) because the government is failing on its constitutional and policy obligation to provide jobs for our them.

    You will remember that it was the ANC that campaigned under the banner of ‘job opportunities’ during the election time. Have you seen any such opportunities? If you have seen them then it should follow that they only exist, if they do, only on paper.

    In 1994, was the Freedom Charter appropriately implemented to start with?
    Why are we so concerned about sub-issues when the main ones have not been properly addressed?

    I assure the rest of the world that nothing will ever work in South Africa until our government goes back to the basics and appropriately implement the principles enshrined in the Freedom Charter.

    Dumi, without freedom – there can be no jobs! And as in now, we are not yet free – therefore, there will be no jobs irrespective of whether or not our brother and sisters register into this crazy, bizarre, and astonishing database.

    I would like to know who is administering it. Surely, its a politicians. I am not trying to defend my profession, but I must say that you cannot place administration into the hands of a politician. They are only concerned with self advancement. Public Administrators – the twin brothers of Public Policy Officials – are the only professional suitable for administering such things. They are concerned NOT with self advancement, but, with the greater good of the society. (But they are still different from Utilitarian Philosophers!)

    Back to the issue,

    I can but not wait to see those jobs being created – because after all it is no ones responsibility but that of the government to create job opportunities.

    Vuyo Ntlangu
    Founder & CEO at Civil Alliance for Policy & Political Affairs
    BA (Sociology, Justice & Public Policy), LLB (in progress) – UCT

     
  2. Vuyo

    June 9, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    In as much as I am a recent graduate, I would never, I repeat: NEVER, in my entire life register for this – whether online or in hard copy.

    As citizenry, we must, at least by now, have already been tired of failing ANC policies. I assure you Dumi , and with a high degree of precision, that: although “this” looks like a neutral “online database for young people looking for job and training opportunities” – it is, after all, a policy pursuit for ANC.

    ANC policies have failed dismally, both in theory and in practice. I say this mindful of my limited knowledge as a graduate in Public Policy studies. Dumi, both logic and evidence dictates that this ‘online database things’ is nothing more than an ANC policy strategy to win favour and confidence of RSA graduates – whom we both and equally know are hungry for jobs.

    I have nothing against the ANC. I am not a politician. However, in my capacity as a

    (a) Founder & CEO at Civil Alliance for Policy and Political Affairs (CAPPA),
    (b) An emerging Policy Analyst

    I have everything against ANC policies – especially in the socio-economic field.

    There was once a policy called RDP, then GEAR, then AsgiSA, then JIPSA – the list goes on. All these policies, I say this without any fear of contradiction – and without holding any breath, have failed first us and second the Republic. They have failed us dismally.

    If I had the necessary resources, I would have taken the RSA President (together with his cabinet) to the Constitutional Court long time ago for failure to deliver and meet its constitutional obligations. A valid and enforceable contract between the government and its citizenry has been breached by the government.

    I have a section 38 (of the Constitution) right to approach a competent court – alleging that my right in the Bill of Rights has been unlawfully infringed. An the Courts have a section 172(1) (of the Constitution) right to grant appropriate relief.

    Furthermore,

    I have never studied economics at varsity. I am not an Economist. However, it is very clear from a reasonable and well informed man that this is not just a matter of economics (jobs & employment – as the government would claim it to be). Dumi, this is a matter of ‘human rights.. a matter of socio-economic rights and a matter of responsive governance’.

    Here we are talking about people, sufficiently educated people, who have been denied, of course by our reckless ANC government, their constitutional rights. I am tempted to say that even our RSA Constitution provides no hope – as it has become nothing but a political tool… easily manipulated by members of the executive (politicians!!!).

    What I want to see is justice being done by the government to our brothers and sisters who are well educated but are still sitting down at home (in taverns and on the streets) because the government is failing on its constitutional and policy obligation to provide jobs for our them.

    You will remember that it was the ANC that campaigned under the banner of ‘job opportunities’ during the election time. Have you seen any such opportunities? If you have seen them then it should follow that they only exist, if they do, only on paper.

    In 1994, was the Freedom Charter appropriately implemented to start with?Why are we so concerned about sub-issues when the main ones have not been properly addressed?

    I assure the rest of the world that nothing will ever work in South Africa until our government goes back to the basics and appropriately implement the principles enshrined in the Freedom Charter.

    Dumi, without freedom – there can be no jobs! And as in now, we are not yet free – therefore, there will be no jobs irrespective of whether or not our brother and sisters register into this crazy, bizarre, and astonishing database.

    I would like to know who is administering it. Surely, its a politicians. I am not trying to defend my profession, but I must say that you cannot place administration into the hands of a politician. They are only concerned with self advancement. Public Administrators – the twin brothers of Public Policy Officials – are the only professionals suitable for administering such things. They are concerned NOT with self advancement, but, with the greater good of the society. (But they are still different from Utilitarian Philosophers!)

    Back to the issue,

    I can but not wait to see those jobs being created – because after all it is no ones responsibility but that of the government to create job opportunities.

    Vuyo Ntlangu
    Founder & CEO at Civil Alliance for Policy & Political Affairs
    BA (Sociology, Justice & Public Policy), LLB (in progress) – UCT

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      June 9, 2011 at 7:42 pm

      Thank you very much Vuyo.

      I agree with you in every sense of the word. We perhaps cannot begin to judge the mandate of the NYDA.I hope that they do live to their words and assist the recent graduates. However, I must admit that their work leaves much to be desired. It is up to Andile Lungisa and his management to help redeem the image of the organisation, if it was at once good.

      I believe that registering your CV with reputable organisations do help, like registering with the Kelly group. The non-profit organisation I trust in this line of work is that established by Cathy Simms and her entourage, SAGRA.

      Furthermore, I agree with you when you say that the president of the republic and his cabinet must be taken to the constitutional court. I mean these people keep giving people empty promises. On as second thought, do you think that the ANC is prepared to create jobs in this country? I mean, these people write lengthy policy document to fool, and confuse the layman of the Republic. That cannot be right. We saw today (9 June 2011), Mr Trevor Manuel releasing yet another confusing policy document termed “Vision 2030”. It looks too damn good. What do you make of it?

      As for NYDA, could we perhaps get new board of trustees who will perhaps stick to corporate governance, and at least manage finances as outlined in the PFMA Act and treasury regulations!!!

       
  3. Es Said So

    June 13, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Tjo! Vuyo, the length and depth of your comments make me feel so dumb. And before I make my mark on this [Dumi’s] post, I wanna tell you that I struggle to comment on your blog, so try and do something about Blogspot, maybe even migrate all your posts to Tumblr or WordPress.

    In respect to this initiative for our new, unemployed graduates, I’m also sceptical about how successful this will be. I don’t have much knowledge about the workings of Public Policy, but the history of such initiatives is just plain dismal, and indeed, as Vuyo puts it, this is just another political tool used to manipulate those concerned. I’m not saying something is wrong with such an initiative, because in other countries similar policies have worked, but we all know how much our public officials are all talk and no action.

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      June 18, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      This guys (NYDA) are under enormous pressure to prove their worth to the South African youth, It is my hope that they are doing all in their might to prove their skeptics (myself included) otherwise. Let’s hope that this excellent brainchild will benefit the unemployed graduates.

       
  4. Thabang Senye

    January 3, 2014 at 9:58 am

    In pledge to my resent situation that have a history of been abundant from a working class. Have been applying for jobs related to the context of my career as an artist. Nothing really ever happened from the year 2000 till now. I participated in small art projects for a while trying acquire knowledge and skills designed to shape my career and in hope of securing employment, but all went astray as nothing seems to be working instead things are getting worse. Any suggestions or advises are welcome to fight this agony

     

Leave a Reply

 
