RSS

Phuthuma Nhleko, The South Africa’s next top billionaire

29 Aug

My blood is yellow. Blood is RED!!. do not be tjatjarag. OK, I think am being a bloody agent now, but I, Still insist that my blood is yellow. That is caused by the fact that one of the leading Telecommunication sector company,MTN Group,  produced an Iron duke in the business Arena. The man is Phuthuma Freedom Nhleko. In order to be a great leader and an influential business person, you need to be inspired and motivated by the top dogs. I, Dumisani Mahlangu, am also being inspired by this great man. Unlike him, I might not be a CEO of a blue chip company, but am quite positive that in me lies a great leader. Mr Nhleko, an outgoing Chief Executive Officer(CEO) of MTN Group is one such person. MTN, under his leadership was able to performed consistently well, with improving its annual returns every year.

Oh well, I seem to have showed that this great man is my role model. Oh ya, I confess, he is my role model! I love reading about him because he unearth the greatest potential that lies in me. Born in 1960, started his career as a humble trainee engineer  in Ohio. As a business leader he founded an investment firm, he holds directorships of some of the major companies in South Africa.  As an MTN CEO, he drove it to be one of the strong competitors of the forever well- performing  company, Vodacom.  In his academic accolades, he boast a BSc in civil engineering from Ohio State University and an MBA in finance from Atlanta University. Furthermore, he has won numerous awards in his professional life, including Ernst & Young best entrepreneur of the year, and being rated 3rd as the most trusted CEO by Financial Mai.

Well, you do not really talk in vain, you need to provide reason as to why this legend will be South Africa’s next billionaire. As he is leaving MTN in March 2011, he leaves it having done a good hell of a job. Such person needs to be remunerated fairly. It seems that MTN stakeholders are very kind and fair as they are giving him a generous package.

“MTM Group is prepared to pay him about R33m.The settlement, which will be due in a once-off sum, is payable on April 1 2011 and is in respect of a three-year restraint of trade. Nhleko will also be entitled to own up to 5% of MTN’s shares in addition to the R33m in restraint of trade payments.” (FIN 24)

The above block quote support my claim when I say that Mr Nhleko is about to join the billionaires club. Just picture what 5%  stake in a company with billions of rands can do to your wealth? I believe that Patrice Motsepe, Johan Rupert and the rest of the club members are ready to welcome him with warm hands.

Wow, Forbes Magazines has something new from the southern hemisphere to write about. Here is to another billionaire, Mr Phuthuma Freedom Nhleko. You are a legend, dawg!!!

Keep inspiring….


 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2010 in Business

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Phuthuma Nhleko, The South Africa’s next top billionaire

  1. mpho Tjope

    December 11, 2010 at 12:09 am

    he is indeed a great man, i had a cht with him earlier today and took pictures,

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      December 11, 2010 at 11:17 am

      Sure, you were greatly inspired!

       
  2. Es

    March 6, 2012 at 3:47 am

    As to why I’m reading this at this time of the hour is a mystery to me. Anyway, this is quite an interesting read, buddy. Since the guy left MTN he’s joined BP and Anglo both in London. If they where to rank the most influencial directors on the FTSE by value of the companies the sit in, he’d probably be the most powerful black person and one of the most powerful non-Londoners.

    And following with the theme of the post, I’m sure when the next Forbes World’s Billionaires list comes out soon he’s gonna be feature if that thing you wrote about him holding 5% of MTN shares is true. I just did a quick calculation with the Bloomberg app on my phone and at a value of R256bn for MTN, his share would be at most R12.8bn. Dollar billionaire status indeed.

     
  3. Mphahlele Baloyi

    March 20, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    I like reading about him.got inspired that i started a business to be a cash cow to something big.

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      March 26, 2012 at 11:45 pm

      Wishing you all the best in your business endeavours!

       
  4. Frank

    May 29, 2013 at 7:02 am

    Email me.
    Good article insight but… mail me.

     
    • Dumi-rocks

      August 3, 2013 at 3:51 pm

      I do not know why I should mail you, but my mail details are available on the contact section of this blog!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 558 other followers

